Minnesota’s 8th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Minnesota. Join MN constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Minnesota’s 8th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Minnesota

Minnesota's 8th congressional district covers the northeastern part of Minnesota. It is anchored by Duluth, Minnesota which is the fourth largest city in state. It also includes most of the Mesabi and Vermilion iron ranges. The district is best known for its mining, agriculture, tourism, and shipping industries. Politically the district leans Democratic with a CPVI of D + 3. However the DFLers in this district are not as liberal as their counterparts in the Twin Cities. Elected Republicans are few and far between; Republican strength is concentrated in the district's southern portion. The district is currently represented by Democrat Rick Nolan, who defeated incumbent Republican Chip Cravaack in November 2012. (More from Freebase)



Alan Franken Democrat 5 years in office


Amy Klobuchar Democrat 7 years in office



8th District Richard Nolan MyOC Group Democrat 39 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 428 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)