Missouri’s 6th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Missouri. Join MO constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Missouri’s 6th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Missouri

Missouri's 6th congressional district takes in a large swath of land in rural northern Missouri. Its largest voting population is centered in the Kansas City metropolitan area and the town of St. Joseph. The district includes all of Kansas City north of the Missouri River. The district takes in all or parts of the following counties: Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Chariton, Clay, Clinton, Cooper, Daviess, De Kalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Platte, Putnam, Ray, Schuyler, Sullivan, Worth. Notable representatives from the district include governors John Smith Phelps and Austin A. King as well as Kansas City Mayor Robert T. Van Horn. In 1976, Jerry Litton was killed on election night as he flew to a victory party after winning the Democratic nomination for United States Senate. The visitors center at Smithville Lake is named in Litton's memory. George W. Bush beat John Kerry in this district 57%-43% in 2004. The district is represented by Republican Sam Graves. Graves easily held on to his seat what was expected to be a tough 2008 election, defeating former Kansas City mayor Kay Waldo Barnes by 22 percentage points. (More from Freebase)



Roy Blunt Republican 3 years in office


Claire McCaskill Democrat 7 years in office



6th District Sam Graves MyOC Group Republican 13 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 553 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)