OpenCongress Blog

Blog Feed Comments Feed More RSS Feeds

Special Senate Summit Attendees

February 23, 2010 - by Donny Shaw

In addition to the 21 senior lawmakers that were specifically invited to attend Thursday’s health care summit at the White House, President Obama asked the Majority and Minority leaders of the House and Senate to select four others from their caucuses to attend. We now know the full list of who has been asked to come along from the Senate:


Sen. Lamar Alexander [R, TN]
Sen. John McCain [R, AZ]
Sen. Thomas Coburn [R, OK]
Sen. John Barrasso [R, WY]


Sen. Charles Schumer [D, NY]
Sen. Patty Murray [D, WA]
Sen. Jay Rockefeller [D, WV]
Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D, CA-8]
Sen. Kent Conrad [D, ND]

The summit will take place at 10 a.m. ET on Tursday and will be televised live.

UPDATE: Wonk Room tweets: “Wyden added to list of Senators attending, GOP gets additional seat #bipartisansummit”

That’s Sen. Ron Wyden [D, OR]. I’ll update again when I get word of who the additional Republican will be.

Like this post? Stay in touch by following us on Twitter, joining us on Facebook, or by Subscribing with RSS.