OpenCongress Blog

Blog Feed Comments Feed More RSS Feeds

The 6 Parts of the Byrd Rule

March 1, 2010 - by Donny Shaw

The Byrd Rule, which governs which legislative provisions are eligible for passage using the budget reconciliation process, has six parts. Provisions are not eligible if they fall under one or more of the parts of the rule.

According to the Congressional Research Service, a provision can be ruled ineligible for budget reconciliation under the Byrd Rule if —

(1) it does not produce a change in outlays or revenues;

(2) it produces an outlay increase or revenue decrease when the instructed committee is not in compliance with its instructions;

(3) it is outside of the jurisdiction of the committee that submitted the title or provision for inclusion in the reconciliation measure;

(4) it produces a change in outlays or revenues which is merely incidental to the non-budgetary components of the provision;

(5) it would increase the deficit for a fiscal year beyond those covered by the reconciliation measure; and

(6) it recommends changes in Social Security.

…I’ll be providing more context for this shortly. Context.

Like this post? Stay in touch by following us on Twitter, joining us on Facebook, or by Subscribing with RSS.


  • jlohman 03/02/2010 2:40am
    Link Reply
    + -1

    Well Damn, then let’s eliminate the Rule! The D’s can do that overnight.

    Jack Lohman …

  • Comm_reply
    lynntran46j 01/21/2012 11:38am

    Thanks for making such an informative post which is really very well written.
    food and beverage erp software

  • janicecollins82n 11/08/2011 8:09pm

    It is a shame that our Congress cannot balance the budget. More thought should be given to our massive spending. Thank you for the post.
    Aquaristik B├╝cher, Aquaristik Dvds

  • Spam Comment

Due to the archiving of this blog, comment posting has been disabled.