114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

OpenCongress Blog

Blog Feed Comments Feed More RSS Feeds

Exemplary Democrats on the Stimulus

February 11, 2009 - by Donny Shaw

Say what you will about the economic stimulus package, but the fact of the matter is that it is the result of as fair and deliberative a process as ever happens in Congress. In the Senate alone, 27 amendments were voted on, at least 20 of them sponsored by members of the minority party. So far, the Senate has gone down on the record 29 times regarding the stimulus. Throughout all the votes, 10 Democrats voted with the majority of their party (or what we can assume to be the administration’s position) every single time. They are:

Sen. Mark Begich [D, AK]
Sen. Bill Nelson [D, FL]
Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D, MD]
Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D, MD]
Sen. Debbie Ann Stabenow [D, MI]
Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D, MN]
Sen. Charles Schumer [D, NY]
Sen. Sherrod Brown [D, OH]
Sen. Bernard Sanders [I, VT]
Sen. Patty Murray [D, WA]

The amendment that picked off the most Democrats was Sen. Tom Coburn’s (R-OK) S.Amdt.309, “to ensure that taxpayer money is not lost on wasteful and non-stimulative projects.”

I’ll be back with the corresponding list of Republicans in a flash… Here are the 7 Republicans with perfect party-line voting records on the stimulus.

Like this post? Stay in touch by following us on Twitter, joining us on Facebook, or by Subscribing with RSS.