Idaho’s 1st Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Idaho. Join ID constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Idaho’s 1st District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Idaho

Idaho's 1st congressional district is one of two congressional districts in the U.S. state of Idaho. It comprises the western portion of the state. From statehood in 1890 to the 1910 election, Idaho was represented by a statewide at-large seat. Following the 1910 census, Idaho gained a second House seat; it was first contested in 1912. However, through the 1916 election, both seats were statewide at-large seats. The first election in Idaho with two congressional districts was in 1918. The 2012 election cycle saw the district remain largely in the shape it has had since the 1950s, encompassing the western third of the state. Notably, it lost almost all of its share of Boise to the 2nd district. A significant increase in population directly west of Boise over the previous decade, in western Ada County and Canyon County, was responsible for the westward shift of the boundary. However, the 1st continues to include most of Boise's suburbs. In Ada County itself, the district continues to include Meridian, Eagle, and some parts of Boise south of Interstate 84. It also includes the entire northern portion of the state, through the Panhandle. (More from Freebase)



James Risch Republican 6 years in office


Michael Crapo Republican 16 years in office



1st District Raúl Labrador MyOC Group Republican 4 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 937 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)