OpenCongress will be shutting down on March 1st. But don't worry: We're doing so for a number of good reasons. From then on, we'll be redirecting users to the excellent GovTrack, where you can continue to monitor Congress.

Idaho’s 2nd Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Idaho. Join ID constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Idaho’s 2nd District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Idaho

Idaho's 2nd congressional district is one of two congressional districts in the U.S. state of Idaho, in the eastern portion of the state. Beginning with the 2012 election, the district expanded westward and now includes most of Boise, the state capital and largest city. After statehood in 1890, Idaho had a single seat in Congress through the 1910 election, a statewide at-large seat. Following the 1910 census, Idaho gained its second seat in the House; it was first contested in 1912, but the state did not immediately apportion into two districts. Through the 1916 election, both were statewide at-large seats. The first election in Idaho with two congressional districts was in 1918. Following the 2010 census and redistricting, the 2nd district gained more territory in northeast Ada County, and now includes most of Boise, with all precincts north of Interstate 84. A significant increase in population directly west of Boise over the previous decade, in western Ada County and Canyon County, was responsible for the westward shift of the boundary. In Ada County, the 1st district continues to include Meridian, Eagle, and west Boise south of Interstate 84. (More from Freebase)



James Risch Republican 7 years in office


Michael Crapo Republican 17 years in office



2nd District Michael Simpson MyOC Group Republican 17 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 750 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)