OpenCongress will be shutting down on March 1st. But don't worry: We're doing so for a number of good reasons. From then on, we'll be redirecting users to the excellent GovTrack, where you can continue to monitor Congress.

Indiana’s 1st Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Indiana. Join IN constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Indiana’s 1st District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Indiana

Indiana's 1st congressional district is a congressional district in the U.S. state of Indiana. The district is based in Gary and its surrounding suburbs and exurbs. From 2003 to 2013 it consisted of all of the counties of Benton, Jasper, Lake, Newton, and part of Porter County in the northwestern part of the state. Lake County, where Gary is located, contains over 70 percent of the district's population. Redistricting passed by the Indiana General Assembly in 2011 shifted the district's boundaries, effective January 2013, to include all of Lake and Porter counties and the western and northwestern townships of LaPorte County, while moving Benton, Jasper and Newton counties out of the district. The district is currently represented by Democrat Pete Visclosky. (More from Freebase)



Daniel Coats Republican 27 years in office


Joe Donnelly Democrat 3 years in office



1st District Peter Visclosky MyOC Group Democrat 31 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 563 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)