114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

Louisiana’s 5th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Louisiana. Join LA constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Louisiana’s 5th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Louisiana

Louisiana's 5th congressional district is a congressional district in the U.S. state of Louisiana. The district covers most of the northeastern and central portions of the state and contains the cities of Monroe and Alexandria. On November 16, 2013, Republican newcomer Vance McAllister, a businessman from Swartz, handily defeated fellow Republican State Senator Neil Riser of Columbia in Caldwell Parish to claim the seat in a special election. McAllister led Riser, 54,449 to 36,837, with all 981 precincts reporting. McAllister won fourteen of the twenty-four parishes in the district, including large margins in Ouachita and Rapides. McAllister had criticized Governor Bobby Jindal for not extending Medicaid to qualified poor Louisianians and Riser had endorsed the refusal. The election was seen as a rejection of Jindal's efforts to have the seat vacated and to replace Alexander with his hand-picked candidate in a low-turnout special election. The runoff turnout was less than 19%, three percent less than it had been in the primary. Previously the seat was held by Rodney Alexander, who in 2004 had switched from the Democratic Party to the GOP. (More from Freebase)



Bill Cassidy Republican 1 year in office


David Vitter Republican 11 years in office



5th District Ralph Abraham MyOC Group Republican 1 year in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 364 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)