114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

Maryland’s 3rd Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Maryland. Join MD constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Maryland’s 3rd District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Maryland

Maryland's 3rd congressional district is a congressional district in the state of Maryland. It comprises portions of Baltimore, Howard, Montgomery and Anne Arundel counties, as well as a significant part of the independent city of Baltimore. The seat is currently represented by John Sarbanes, a Democrat. Landmarks in the district include Fort McHenry, the Maryland Science Center, and the state capital, Annapolis. The last three people to represent Maryland in the United States Senate were all former representatives of the 3rd district. Those include the two current Maryland senators, Ben Cardin and Barbara Mikulski, as well as retired senator Paul Sarbanes. The district's odd shape is attributed to gerrymandering in order to favor Democratic candidates following the 2000 and 2010 censuses. In 2012 the district was found to be the third least compact congressional district in the United States. However, the district was heavily Democratic even before then; a Republican hasn't held it since 1927. (More from Freebase)



Benjamin Cardin Democrat 8 years in office


Barbara Mikulski Democrat 28 years in office



3rd District John Sarbanes MyOC Group Democrat 8 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 492 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)