114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

Missouri’s 8th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Missouri. Join MO constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Missouri’s 8th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Missouri

Missouri's 8th Congressional District is one of 435 congressional districts in the United States and one of eight congressional districts in the state of Missouri. The district encompasses rural Southeast Missouri and South Central Missouri as well as some counties in Southwest Missouri. The district stretches from as far south as the Bootheel north to the St. Louis exurbs of Festus, Hillsboro, and surrounding areas in the Lead Belt and as far east as the counties along the Mississippi River to as far west along the Ozark Plateau near Branson. The district is anchored in Cape Girardeau. A predominantly rural district, the district is heavily Republican at the federal level. In 2004, President George W. Bush received 63% of the vote in the district over U.S. Senator John Kerry who clinched 36%; four years later in 2008, U.S. Senator John McCain carried the district with 61.92% over U.S. Senator Barack Obama who received 36.42%. The district swung even more Republican in 2012 when former Governor Mitt Romney carried the district with 65.88% over President Barack Obama's 31.99%. Jason T. (More from Freebase)



Roy Blunt Republican 5 years in office


Claire McCaskill Democrat 9 years in office



8th District Jason Smith MyOC Group Republican 3 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 376 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)