114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

North Carolina’s 13th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in North Carolina. Join NC constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for North Carolina’s 13th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← North Carolina

The Thirteenth congressional district of North Carolina was re-established in 2002 after the state gained population in the 2000 United States Census. Previously, the state had 13 districts from the first election following the 1810 United States Census until the reapportionment following the 1840 United States Census. From 2003 to 2013 the district included most of northern Wake County, all of Person and Caswell counties as well as parts of Rockingham, Granville, Guilford, and Alamance counties. However, reapportionment after the 2010 census shifted the district more to the south and east. As a result, it lost its share of Alamance, Caswell, Guilford, Person, and Rockingham counties. In place of those five counties, portions of Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Nash, Vance, Wayne, and Wilson counties were added. More of Wake County and less of Granville County were also included. The new district is also 14 points more Republican than its predecessor. As a result, Congressman Brad Miller, who represented the district from its creation in 2003, announced he would not seek re-election to office in 2012. The district is now represented by Republican George Holding. (More from Freebase)



Thom Tillis Republican First year in office


Richard Burr Republican 10 years in office



13th District George Holding MyOC Group Republican 2 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 410 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)