OpenCongress will be shutting down on March 1st. But don't worry: We're doing so for a number of good reasons. From then on, we'll be redirecting users to the excellent GovTrack, where you can continue to monitor Congress.

Nevada’s 1st Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Nevada. Join NV constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Nevada’s 1st District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Nevada

Nevada's 1st congressional district occupies most of Nevada's largest city, Las Vegas, as well as parts of North Las Vegas and parts of unincorporated Clark County. The district now leans Democratic. Before the 1980 Census, Nevada was represented by a single at-large congressional district. After the 1980 Census, Nevada was split into two districts due to its high population growth relative to the rest of the country. From 1983 to 2003, the 1st district was essentially Las Vegas and most of its inner-ring suburbs, while the rest of the state was in the 2nd district. Following the 2000 Census, further population growth resulted in the creation of the 3rd congressional district, which included much of Las Vegas suburbs of Henderson, North Las Vegas, Summerlin, and much of unincorporated Clark County. Redistricting after the 2000 Census also made the 1st district smaller, more urban, and more Democratic-leaning. It contracted even further after the 2010 Census, which made it a majority-minority district; Hispanics now make up a plurality of its voters. (More from Freebase)



Harry Reid Democrat 29 years in office


Dean Heller Republican 5 years in office



1st District Dina Titus MyOC Group Democrat 7 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 491 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)