114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

South Carolina’s 6th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in South Carolina. Join SC constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for South Carolina’s 6th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← South Carolina

The 6th Congressional District of South Carolina is a congressional district in central South Carolina. From 2003 to 2013 it included all of Bamberg, Clarendon, Colleton, Marion and Williamsburg counties and parts of Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Lee, Orangeburg, Richland and Sumter counties. The district borders were shifted south in the 2012 redistricting, moving away from North Carolina and adding the Georgia-South Carolina border. The district was defined in the early 1990s in a deal between state Republicans and Democrats in the South Carolina General Assembly to ensure a majority-black population, known as a majority-minority district. The rural counties of the historical black belt in South Carolina make up much of the district, but it also includes most of the black precincts in Charleston, and most of the black precincts in Columbia to the west. Following the Reconstruction era, the white Democratic-dominated legislature passed Jim Crow laws, as well as a new constitution in 1895 that effectively disfranchised blacks, crippling the Republican Party in the state. (More from Freebase)



Lindsey Graham Republican 13 years in office


Tim Scott Republican 3 years in office



6th District James Clyburn MyOC Group Democrat 23 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 211 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)