114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

Tennessee’s 2nd Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Tennessee. Join TN constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Tennessee’s 2nd District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Tennessee

The 2nd congressional district of Tennessee is a congressional district in Tennessee. It currently includes the east central part of the state. The district is based in Knoxville, and is largely coextensive with that city's metropolitan area. It includes most of that city's suburbs, such as Powell, Farragut and Maryville. The 2nd is one of the safest districts in the nation for the Republican Party. No Democrat has represented the district since 1855, and Republicans have held the district continuously since 1859. It was one of only two districts in Tennessee whose congressmen did not resign when Tennessee seceded from the Union prior to the Civil War. Because most of its residents supported the Union over the Confederacy, the people almost immediately identified with the Republicans after hostilities ceased. Much of that sentiment was derived from the region's economic base of small-scale farming, with little or no use for slavery; thus, voters were mostly indifferent or hostile to the concerns of plantation owners and other landed interests farther west in the state, who aligned themselves with the Democratic Party. (More from Freebase)



Lamar Alexander Republican 12 years in office


Bob Corker Republican 8 years in office



2nd District John Duncan MyOC Group Republican 27 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 590 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)