114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

Washington’s 2nd Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Washington. Join WA constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Washington’s 2nd District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Washington

Washington's 2nd congressional district includes all of Island and San Juan counties and neighboring areas on the mainland from Bellingham in the north to Lynnwood in the south. Before redistricting in 2012, the district encompassed the northern portion of Western Washington from the vicinity of the King/Snohomish county line to the Canadian border, including the San Juan Islands and the exclave of Point Roberts. Since 2001, it has been represented by Democrat Rick Larsen. Originally created in 1909 when Washington was broken up into districts, the Second District was represented by future U.S. Senator Henry M. "Scoop" Jackson between 1941 and 1953. It was a reliably Democratic district for most of the latter half of the 20th century until the Republican Revolution of 1994, when retiring Rep. Al Swift was replaced by Jack Metcalf. Larsen has represented the district since Metcalf's retirement in 2001. He faced a close reelection in 2002, but was handily reelected in 2004 and hasn't faced serious opposition until 2010. In the 2008 election, Larsen easily defeated Republican challenger Rick Bart. (More from Freebase)



Maria Cantwell Democrat 15 years in office


Patty Murray Democrat 23 years in office



2nd District Rick Larsen MyOC Group Democrat 15 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 942 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)