114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

Washington’s 3rd Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Washington. Join WA constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Washington’s 3rd District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Washington

Washington's 3rd congressional district encompasses the southernmost portion of western and central Washington. It includes the counties of Lewis, Pacific, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, Skamania, and Klickitat, and a small sliver of southern Thurston county. The 3rd District is represented by Republican Jaime Herrera Beutler. Established after the 1900 census, the Third District was represented by Democrats for most of the latter half of the 20th century, until Rep. Jolene Unsoeld was defeated by maverick Republican Linda Smith as part of the Republican Revolution of 1994. Smith retired after two terms and was succeeded by Democrat Brian Baird. Baird announced he wouldn't run for reelection in 2010, with Republican Jaime Herrera Beutler winning the now open seat in the 2010 general election 53%-47% against Democratic representative Denny Heck, who was subsequently elected in Washington's 10th congressional district. Herrera Beutler retained her seat 60%-40% over Democrat Jon T. Haugen. In presidential elections, the 3rd District is rather competitive. (More from Freebase)



Maria Cantwell Democrat 14 years in office


Patty Murray Democrat 22 years in office



3rd District Jaime Herrera Beutler MyOC Group Republican 4 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 928 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)