Washington’s 4th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Washington. Join WA constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Washington’s 4th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Washington

Washington's 4th congressional district encompasses a large area of central Washington, covering the counties of, Douglas, Okanogan, Grant, Yakima, Franklin, Benton, and Adams. The district is dominated by the Yakima and Tri-Cities areas. Since 1995, the 4th District has been represented in the U.S. House of Representatives by Richard N. "Doc" Hastings, a Republican from Pasco. The Fourth District is predominantly rural, and is considerably more conservative than the western part of the state. It has been dominated by the Republican Party for several decades; only three Democrats have ever represented the district. The last Democrat to represent the district was Jay Inslee, who held the seat during the 103rd Congress. Hastings defeated Inslee in the 1994 election and has served in Congress ever since; Inslee later moved to Bainbridge Island and was sent back to Congress representing the First District in the central Puget Sound area. In the 2008 election, Hastings easily defeated challenger George Fearing. In presidential elections, the 4th District is a Republican stronghold. George W. Bush carried the district in 2000 and 2004 with 62% and 63% of the vote, respectively. The 4th District also gave John McCain 58% of the vote in 2008, his strongest showing in Washington. (More from Freebase)



Maria Cantwell Democrat 14 years in office


Patty Murray Democrat 22 years in office



4th District Dan Newhouse MyOC Group Republican First year in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 547 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)