114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

Washington’s 5th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Washington. Join WA constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Washington’s 5th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Washington

Washington's 5th congressional district encompasses the Eastern Washington counties of Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Whitman, Walla Walla, Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin. It is centered on Spokane, the state's second largest city. Since 2005, the 5th District has been represented in the U.S. House of Representatives by Cathy McMorris Rodgers, a Republican. Rodgers's predecessor, George Nethercutt, defeated Tom Foley, then Speaker of the House, in the 1994 elections; Foley had held the seat since 1965. In presidential elections, the 5th District was once fairly competitive, but in recent years has generally been a safe bet for the Republicans. Although George W. Bush carried the district with 57% in 2000 and 2004, John McCain just narrowly won the district with 52% of the vote, while Barack Obama received 46% in 2008. In 2012, President Obama's share of the vote dropped to 44%. The first election in the 5th District was in 1914, won by Democrat Clarence Dill. Following the 1910 census, Washington gained two seats in the U.S. House, from three to five, but did not reapportion for the 1912 election. (More from Freebase)



Maria Cantwell Democrat 14 years in office


Patty Murray Democrat 22 years in office



5th District Cathy McMorris Rodgers MyOC Group Republican 10 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 798 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)