114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

Washington’s 7th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Washington. Join WA constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Washington’s 7th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Washington

Washington's 7th congressional district encompasses most of Seattle, all of Vashon Island, Edmonds, Shoreline, Kenmore, and parts of Burien and Normandy Park. Since 1989, the 7th District has been represented in the U.S. House of Representatives by Jim McDermott, a Democrat. The 7th is the most Democratic district in the Pacific Northwest, and the most Democratic district on the West Coast outside of the San Francisco Bay Area or Los Angeles. It is also the most Democratic majority-white district in the United States. Democrats dominate every level of government, and routinely win elections by well over 70 percent of the vote. Al Gore swept the 7th District in 2000 with 72% of the vote while John Kerry won 79% of the vote in the district in 2004. Barack Obama took in 84% of the vote in the district in 2008. Washington's seventh seat in the U.S. House was added following the 1950 census, but the state did not immediately reapportion. It was contested as a statewide at-large seat for three elections: 1952, 1954, and 1956; and voters cast ballots for two congressional seats, their district and the at-large. Democrat Donald H. Magnuson won all three at-large elections. (More from Freebase)



Maria Cantwell Democrat 15 years in office


Patty Murray Democrat 23 years in office



7th District Jim McDermott MyOC Group Democrat 27 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 1345 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)