OpenCongress will be shutting down on March 1st. But don't worry: We're doing so for a number of good reasons. From then on, we'll be redirecting users to the excellent GovTrack, where you can continue to monitor Congress.

Washington’s 9th Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in Washington. Join WA constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for Washington’s 9th District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← Washington

Washington's 9th congressional district encompasses a long, somewhat narrow area in western Washington through the densely populated central Puget Sound region, from Tacoma in the south to Bellevue in the north. Since 1997, the 9th District has been represented in the U.S. House of Representatives by Adam Smith, a Democrat from Bellevue. Established after the 1990 U.S. Census, the 9th District was originally drawn as a "fair fight" district. The first representative from the 9th District, Mike Kreidler, was defeated after one term by conservative Republican Randy Tate; Tate, in turn, was defeated after one term by Smith. Kreidler currently serves as the Washington Commissioner of Insurance, and Tate went on to succeed Ralph Reed as executive director of the Christian Coalition. Since being first elected in 1996, Smith's moderate voting record and a strong Democratic trend in the Puget Sound region have turned the formerly contentious district into a fairly safe Democratic seat. He won reelection easily in the 2008 election. Al Gore and John Kerry each carried the 9th District with 53% in 2000 and 2004, respectively. Barack Obama won the district in 2008 with 59% of the vote. (More from Freebase)



Maria Cantwell Democrat 15 years in office


Patty Murray Democrat 23 years in office



9th District Adam Smith MyOC Group Democrat 19 years in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 551 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)