114th Congress: We're updating with new data as it becomes available.

West Virginia’s 2nd Congressional District

MyOC Group for people in West Virginia. Join WV constituents in tracking bills, votes, issues, and their members of Congress. RaceTracker for West Virginia’s 2nd District seat. See all candidates for the 2012 election.

← West Virginia

West Virginia's 2nd congressional district stretches from the Ohio River border with Ohio to the Potomac River border with Maryland and the border with Virginia. It includes the capital city of Charleston and the rapidly growing residential communities of West Virginia's Eastern Panhandle and Potomac Highlands regions connected by a narrow strip of nearly unpopulated counties. It has been accurately described as 20 miles wide and 300 miles long. The district is currently represented by Shelley Moore Capito, a Republican and the daughter of former Governor Arch A. Moore, Jr. Capito is the first Republican from West Virginia to serve more than one term in Congress since her father, who represented West Virginia's 1st congressional district from 1957 to 1969. The district owes its size and odd shape to the issue of gun control. West Virginia had four Congressional seats from 1973 to 1993. Previously, much of the western portion of the current 2nd District had been the 3rd District, based in Charleston. The eastern portion of the district had been the 2nd District, anchored in Martinsburg and Morgantown. (More from Freebase)



Shelley Capito Republican 1 year in office


Joe Manchin Democrat 6 years in office



2nd District Alex Mooney MyOC Group Republican 1 year in office

District Boundary Map

Join now and connect with 566 OpenCongress users in this district (it's free)